The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky


ImageThe Perks Of Being A Wallflower
                                      
Stephen Chbosky

231 pages  1999   Contemporary//Stand Alone

ImageImageImageImageImage

Charlie is a freshman.
And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his year yet socially awkward,he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.”

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower is first of all a really unique written book. Also it’s a really good book that I as normally felt a bit skeptical about. The fact that this book is written from Charlie’s perspective where he writes letters to this unknown person who he dearly calls “friend”. So basically this is just a lot of letters written by the character named Charlie. As the story went along I really fell in love with the writing style and I think that if it hadn’t been for that writing style the characters would probably not be the same. 

The main character Charlie is a character that is really easy falling in love with. I adore him and he’s such a super cute character. He’s written like this insecure fifth-teen year old kid who’s starting high school and have no friends, besides Michael who committed suicide. I all along felt sorry for him, and personally I though there was too much crying at times. In the end Charlie is this open minded smart boy who sees the world like not many… and that’s the art in this book. The other characters in this story that I fell in love with straight from the beginning was Sam & Patrick. They also is this awesome characters who brings life to the pages. I also like each and every characters separate story. Their background stories is all magnificent in many ways.

The overall structure and development throughout the book is really amazing. Once I felt I was out of track or slacking off I’m thrown into more interesting moments in Charlie first year of high school. The thing that I felt was the reason for my whole excitement thing really was the writing style… it made it more realistic in all sort of ways. The romance in this book also kept my attention. I loved the Charlie/Sam moments and the whole friendship thing between Charlie/Sam/Patrick… Just so beautiful.

I’m basicly out of speech really. All I can say is that this will be one of my all time favorite Contemporary Novel, if not the favorite. This book is a recommended read for everyone, but keep an open mind about it while reading it, because it’s like I started this review an “Unique” book in all ways. I’ve given this book a full score, because it was perfect just the way it is.

~ Sindre

4 thoughts on “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Leave a Reply

