Flaggermusmannen (The Bat) by Jo Nesbø


ImageFlaggermusmannen (The Bat)
                         Jo Nesbø

339 pages     1997     Crime//Harry Hole #1

ImageImageImageImage

Order your copy at:
Amazon // Book Depository // Adlibris
(Nordic)

“Detective Harry Hole is meant to keep out of trouble. A young Norwegian girl taking a gap year in Sydney has been murdered, and Harry has been sent to Australia to assist in any way he can. When the team unearths a string of unsolved murders and disappearances, nothing will stop Harry from finding out the truth. The hunt for a serial killer is on, but the murderer will talk only to Harry.”

Following Detective Harry Hole “Holy” from when he arrives in Sidney to the solving of the rapist and murderer of Inger Holter was surprisingly awesome. As a matter of fact I’m not the biggest fan of crime novels in general and this is actually my first crime novel. When I first started this book I was afraid that this book would be too television crime-ish, but when I got to about page seventy I got driven into the story. I wanted to figure out who the murderer was, and why he did what he did. I never truly became suspicious onto who the guilty was, I all the way through I had my killer, but then there where new leads pointing toward someone else … and so on. 

The main character Harry Hole is a well written and developed character that you get to know pretty well in this book. Jo Nesbø also manages to contain a lot of Hole’s background story in this book. I think that Nesbø’s ability to make strong characters makes him stand out among many other authors I’ve read. Harry Hole is such a strong likable character that I quickly fell in love with. There are also many other interesting strong characters that makes this book a blast to read. Some of my favorites is Birgitta, Otto and Andrew.

The structure of the story is also really good. The way that Jo Nesbø has developed the murder case all the way to the finish line is really mesmerizing. Without giving too much spoilers here I’ll just say that all the hidden trains throughout the book is well thought out and gives the solution of the case such a twist. I honestly didn’t see everything coming at all, I had somethings sorted out in my mind.

I feel that the elements that in this book was used to keep readers from being bored is really the love stories, tragedies and background story of our main character. I truly fell in love with the love stories. Another thing for my sake is the fact that this book is set in Australia, which gives this book a pinch of salt. I also like the use of clowns, prostitutes, indigenous, transsexuals, pushers, alcoholics and aborigines. The fact that he manages to use the culture and streets of Sidney into his writing.

The fact that this is my first Crime Novel I don’t have much to compare this with, but from my perspective I think this was a really good book. I would recommend this book to everyone really from a mature mind. It can be a good read for people who like mysteries and love well built characters and writing. A 4.5 of 5 stars :D.

Can’t wait to get my hands on Kakerlakkene (The Cockroaches) which is the second book in the Harry Hole series. 😀 Estimated publish date in US/UK is December 10th, 2013. All the other books in his series is already published. That’s actually really weird, haha 😀

~ Sindre E

4 thoughts on “Flaggermusmannen (The Bat) by Jo Nesbø

  1. Funny that we both just finished this one! Must admit that you seem to have had a better experience with it than I did. If you are interested in reading another detective story, I would suggest ‘Birdman’ by Mo Hayder which I also just finished. Do be warned that it does get pretty graphic and disturbing, so might not be for you. But if you like twists and turns in a story, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

